For Individuals,For Plan Sponsors,Custom

MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund Increases its Awards Following the Pandemic

August 2, 2021

Washington, D.C. – July 22, 2021 – The MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund (MissionSquare Scholarship Fund), formerly the ICMA-RC Public Employee Memorial Scholarship Fund, is pleased to announce it will increase its funding for the 2021-2022 academic year. The company will award nearly $70,000 in higher education scholarships to the 31 recipients listed below.

“The pandemic has had a tremendous impact on many industries, and unfortunately education is no different. Based on estimates from the National Student Clearinghouse, college enrollment dropped by 3.6% in 2020-21,” said MissionSquare Retirement CEO and President, Lynne Ford, who also serves as President of the MissionSquare Scholarship Fund. “Despite the lower enrollment numbers, there is still a great need to provide assistance to these deserving students as they pursue their educational goals and dreams.”

Now in its 20th year, the MissionSquare Scholarship Fund accepts applications from surviving children and spouses of public employees who have died in the line of duty. Recipients are selected based on qualifications such as, financial need, academic success, leadership in school and community activities, honors received, and work experience. Students may choose to study at an accredited two- or four-year college or university or postsecondary vocational or technical school.

To learn more about the scholarship program and this year’s recipients, visit

The 2021–2022 MissionSquare Scholarship Fund recipients are:



Brendan A. Bayton

Missouri State University

Tyler D. Bitting

University of Wisconsin

Ally N. Butler

Ball State University

Aliza V. DeVoe

Millersville University

Kensley B. Dickey

Columbia State Community College

Savannah N. Flanscha

Drexel University

Bailey R. Fritz

Thiel College

Robin A. Hadaller

Western Oregon University

Emma L. Hardy

William Woods University

Taylor C. McMullan

Art Center College of Design

Nicholas N. Nappi

Fordham University

Jared Nichols

Iowa State University

Keara G. Page

Union College

Katelyn M. Rice

Bridgewater State University

Tyler S. Rogow

Savannah College of Art & Design

Rebecca E. Townes

The College of Saint Rose

Erika Brentar

DePaul University

Gabryella Clardy

Framingham State University

Mariah Darden

Virginia State University

Elizabeth Diebel

Florida Atlantic University

Madison Draper

Ameritech College of Healthcare

Emilee Fleshner

Valencia College

Dara Gannon

Suffolk University

Brandi Koprowski

University of North Carolina Greensboro

Myareoh Martinez

University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences

Maverick McClendon

Southeastern Oklahoma State University

Shannon Owen

University of Antelope Valley

Amy Patrick

Century College

Sean Strzalkowski

ECPI University

Savannah Uhl

University of Arizona

Stephanie Vidal-Echevarria

University Ana G. Mendez

Return to top