Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion,For Individuals,For Plan Sponsors,Custom

40 Surviving Family Members of Fallen Heroes Receive Higher Education Scholarships

September 13, 2022

As students return to the classroom while families deal with the dual problems of soaring tuition and the high inflation, the MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund again has increased funding of higher education scholarships for the children and spouses of fallen public servants. For the 2022-2023 academic year, more than $77,000 in scholarships have been awarded to 40 recipients from communities across the nation.

"Families who serve the public are hit especially hard by high tuition and inflation," said Lynne Ford, CEO and President of MissionSquare Retirement and President of the MissionSquare Scholarship Fund. "These costs, coupled with the trauma of losing a family member in the line of duty, can put higher education out of reach for those left behind."

"Our mission is to serve those who serve our nation's communities, including their families. This scholarship fund is so important because it supports the families of the individuals working in service to the public who have made the ultimate sacrifice. Helping ensure their families have access to higher education honors our fallen heroes. And it helps set up their survivors reach their career goals and achieve financial security. It’s been our honor to fund these scholarships for more than 20 years," Ford said.

To date, more than $1.4 million has been awarded to some 450 students across the nation.

Founded in 2001, the MissionSquare Retirement Memorial Scholarship Fund honors education, health care, not-for-profit, public safety, and other local and state government employees who died while in service to their communities. The fund provides financial aid to the surviving spouses and children of those employees who died in the line of duty and will attend full-time an accredited two-year community college, four-year accredited university, or vocational school.

The 2022–2023 MissionSquare Scholarship Fund recipients are as follows:



Imani O. Armstrong

Alabama State University

Tiffany S. Bartholemew

University of West Florida

Jack O. Bellew

Manhattan College

Katreana F. Bellew

New York University

Kieran J. Bellew

Penn State University

Katianna Blackwel-Scott

Kenyon College

Jonathan Brooks

Herzing University

Karley Burbridge

University of Nebraska at Omaha

Ally N. Butler

Ball State University

Owen A. Curry

Embry Riddle Aeronautical University

Aliza V. DeVoe

Millersville University

Elizabeth Diebel

Florida Atlantic University

Madison Draper

Ameritech College of Healthcare

Gabrielle J. Eck

Wichita State University

Andrea Evans

Friends University

Emilee Fleshner

Valencia College

Jocelyn Fontanez-Rivera

UPR Recito Universitario de Moyaguez

Rylee D. Fournier

University of La Verne

Frank (Grant) W. Fouts, VI

University of Iowa

Bailey R. Fritz

Thiel College

Robin Lee

Benedictine University

Kennedy K. Karriem

Arkansas State University

Saralyn Lunger

University of Texas Health Science Center

Myareoh Martinez

University of St. Augustine for Health Sciences

Sarah McNair

University of Georgia

Chandler Miller

Park University

Grace Nielson

University of Missouri-Columbia

Keara G. Page

Union College

Rachel Platt

Salisbury University

Courtney L. Quiroz

Pacific University

Karlie Reed

California Baptist University

Katelyn M. Rice

Bridgewater State University

Ryan J. Rice

Bridgewater State University

Mark Scarborough

Lakeland University

Jayden Scott

Tennessee Wesleyan University

Gwendolyn Sherwood

Alderson Broaddus University

Sean Starzalkowski

ECPI University

Kadence M. Stroble

University of the Southwest

Stephanie Vidal-Echevarria

University of Turabo

Jackson Winum

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Receipts were selected based on qualifications such as financial need, academic success, leadership in school and community activities, honors received, and work experience.

The application program for 2023 will be available starting in the fall of 2022.

Return to top